HOW TO READ TYRE SIZE

Installing the right tyres on your vehicle is important to the overall performance and safety of your vehicle. Your tyre choice should reflect the conditions in which you drive and your preferences for vehicle response and handling. You should understand what tyre size is right for your vehicle to be able to make the right choice when it's time to buy tyres.

Thankfully, determining the correct tyre size for your vehicle is fairly simple. All the information you need is immediately available either in the owner’s manual for your vehicle or somewhere within the vehicle itself. If you already know your tyre size and would like to find the right Bridgestone tyre for your vehicle, visit our Tyre Catalog.

While actual, physical measurements like width and diameter are factors in finding the right tyre size, there are additional details you should consider. Things like load index and speed rating are also integral to finding the correct tyres.

Where to Find Tyre Size

No matter what vehicle you drive, finding the manufacturer-recommended tyre size should be easy. The best place to start looking is the owner’s manual.

Don’t worry if you can’t locate the manual; you may also find a tyre fit guide in these locations:

  • The driver’s side door jamb
  • Inside your glove box compartment
  • Within your petrol tank hatch

Find your tire size

Assuming your current tyres are the originally fitted, you can find tyre size data on the sidewall of your tyres. However, no matter where you find your tyre size, you will have to decipher a sequence of numbers and letters.

How to Read Tyre Size

Let’s take a look at what each number or letter stands for, one by one, in the order they appear in your tyre size data. We'll be using this tyre size as an example: 225/70/R16 91S.

Tire sidewall information

The Letters “P” and “LT”

For most vehicles, you’ll see the letter “P” before the number sequence begins: P225/70R16 91S. The “P” is short for “P-metric” which is a designation by the Tyre and Rim Association for a “passenger car” tyre type. This signifies the tyre was designed to primarily be used on passenger vehicles, which can include cars, minivans, SUV’s, and other light duty pickup trucks. If you see “LT” instead of “P,” it’s because you need “light truck” tyres – “LT” is short for “LT-metric” which is a designation by the Tyre and Rim Association for a “light truck” type tyre. Light truck tyres are designed to be used on vehicles capable of carrying heavy cargo or pulling trailers.

Similarly, “T” stands for “temporary” and is for your spare tyre. If you see “ST,” that means “special trailer.”

Width

The first number to appear in your tyre size information is the width, in millimeters, of the correct tyres for your vehicle: 225/70/R16 91S.

Tyre width always refers to the measurement from one sidewall to another. Thus, a tyre with the measurement “P225” is for a passenger vehicle and has a nominal width of 225 millimetres.

Aspect Ratio

After the slash mark, the next number you see is for the tyre’s aspect ratio, which essentially tells you how tall your tyre’s profile is: 225/70/R16 91S. Aspect ratios are delivered in percentages. Tyre makers calculate the aspect ratio by dividing a tyre’s height off the rim by its width. If a tyre has an aspect ratio of 70, it means the tyre’s height is 70% of its width.

Lower aspect ratio tyres, such as a 45 series, generally offer vehicle handling performance advantages over higher aspect ratio tyres, such as a 55 series.

Construction

After the aspect ratio comes a letter that indicates the type of internal construction maintaining your tyre’s stability: 225/70/R16 91S.

There are two types of construction that you may see on the sidewall of a tyre:

  • R – Radial
  • D – Diagonal or Bias Ply

Radial construction means the tyre’s internal ply cords are oriented in a radial direction, from one bead over to the other, essentially perpendicular to the axis of rotation.

Rim Diameter

The next number is the diameter code, in inches, of the rim onto which the tyre can be mounted. For example, a tyre with the 225/70/R16 91S would fit a rim with a 16-inch diameter.

Load Index

The next figure in the sequence is your tyre’s load index, which tells us how much weight, in kilograms, the tyre can support when fully inflated: 225/70/R16 91S

We call it the load “index” because the number doesn’t tell us the precise number of kilograms the tyre can carry, at least not by itself. However, the number does correspond to a specific load capacity listed in an index. Beginning with 60 and ending with 179, numbers in the load index represent carrying capacities of 250 to 7750 kilograms.

Speed Rating

The final figure in a tyre size sequence is the speed rating, which is indicated by a letter: 225/70/R16 91S. Just as your load index number corresponds to a particular load, your speed rating letter corresponds to a particular speed capability based on a standardised laboratory test.

For example, a tyre with speed rating “S” is rated for up to 180 km/h, while a tyre rated “R” is up to 170 km/h. Remember that this isn’t a recommended cruising speed. Of course, you should always follow legal speed limits on the road.

Tyres with higher the speed ratings, tend to offer increasing handling performance. Replacement tyres must have similar or higher speed rating to maintain vehicle speed capability. If a vehicle has tyres with different speed ratings, it is the speed rating of the “slowest” tyre that dictates the vehicle top speed.

  • Drive into Summer Prepared

    There's more to driving in the summertime than just cranking up the A/C. Heat can be your car's worst enemy, so make sure your ride is ready for the road, no matter what the summer brings.

    Learn More
  • Tyre Speed Rating: What You Need to Know

    Most modern passenger tyres bear a tyre speed rating indicating the tyre's designed speed capability. Learn what these ratings mean and how they can impact your driving experience.

    Click to Learn More
  • How to Check Tyre Pressure

    Both under inflation and over inflation can cause headaches like premature tread wear and possible tyre failure. The best way to ensure you're getting the most out of your tyres is to check your tyre pressure regularly. We'll show you how.

    Click to Learn More

看懂輪胎標示與尺寸

為您的愛車裝配正確尺寸的輪胎,對於您愛車的整體性能和安全性非常重要。您的輪胎選擇必須能滿足您的行車條件,以及您對於車輛反應和操控性的偏好。請務必瞭解您愛車輪胎的正確尺寸,在購買輪胎時才能做出最正確的選擇。

還好判斷您愛車的正確輪胎尺寸非常容易,所有您需要的資訊都能在您愛車的車主手冊或車上的某一處找到。若您已經知道您的輪胎尺寸,並且想要為您的愛車尋找正確的普利司通輪胎,請參閱我們的輪胎型錄

尋找正確輪胎尺寸除了寬度和直徑等實際物理測量數據要點以外,還有其他細節需要考量。例如載重指數與速限指數也是尋找正確輪胎的環節之一。

輪胎尺寸在哪裡

無論您開的是什麼車,應該都能輕鬆找到製造商建議的輪胎尺寸。最好先從車主手冊找起。

如果找不到手冊也別擔心,您還能在下列位置找到輪胎適配指示:

  • 駕駛側車門框上
  • 手套箱蓋內側
  • 油箱蓋板內

Find your tire size

假設輪胎是正確尺寸,您可以在目前輪胎的胎壁上找到輪胎尺寸資料。但無論是在哪裡找到您的輪胎尺寸,都必須判讀一連串數字和英文字母。

如何判讀輪胎尺寸

讓我們依照在輪胎尺寸資料上的出現順序來看看每一個數字或字母分別代表什麼。我們用以下輪胎尺寸為範例:225/70R16 91S

Tire sidewall information

The Letters “P” and “LT”

For most vehicles, you’ll see the letter “P” before the number sequence begins: P225/70R16 91S. The “P” is short for “P-metric” which is a designation by the Tyre and Rim Association for a “passenger car” tyre type. This signifies the tyre was designed to primarily be used on passenger vehicles, which can include cars, minivans, SUV’s, and other light duty pickup trucks. If you see “LT” instead of “P,” it’s because you need “light truck” tyres – “LT” is short for “LT-metric” which is a designation by the Tyre and Rim Association for a “light truck” type tyre. Light truck tyres are designed to be used on vehicles capable of carrying heavy cargo or pulling trailers.

Similarly, “T” stands for “temporary” and is for your spare tyre. If you see “ST,” that means “special trailer.”

寬度

在輪胎尺寸資訊上出現的第一組數字代表您愛車正確輪胎的寬度,單位為公釐:205/55R16 91V。

胎寬固定代表兩側胎壁之間的寬度。因此標有「225」的輪胎,其公稱寬度便為 225 mm。

扁平比

於斜線號後方的第二組數字是輪胎的扁平比,主要是告訴您輪胎的輪廓有多高:205/55R16 91V。扁平比是以百分比表示。輪胎製造商是利用輪胎高度除以輪胎寬度來計算扁平比。若一條輪胎的扁平比為 70,表示輪胎高度為其寬度的 70%。

低扁平比輪胎(例如 60 系列)通常能提供比高扁平比輪胎(例如 75 系列)還要優異的車輛操控性能。

結構

扁平比後面有一個代表維持您輪胎穩定性的內部結構類型:205/55R16 91V。

您可能會在胎壁上看到兩種結構類型:

  • R – 輻射層
  • D – 對角或斜交層

輻射層輪胎代表今日美國道路上大多數的輪胎;因此「R」通常會出現在輪胎尺寸標示中。輻射層結構代表輪胎內部簾布層紗線為徑向排列、彼此交疊並且固定會與轉動軸垂直。

輪圈直徑

下一組數字為輪胎可安裝之輪圈的直徑代碼,單位為英寸。例如一條尺寸為 205/55R16 91V 可以裝在直徑 16 吋的輪框上。

載重指數

下一組數字是您輪胎的載重指數,能告訴您輪胎在充飽氣的情況下能支撐多大重量,單位為磅:205/55R16 91V

稱其為載重「指數」是因為數字並無法直接告訴我們輪胎能支撐多少磅的重量。但是該數字會對應到指數表中所列的一個特定載重能力。從 1 開始一直到 150 結束,載重指數表中的數字分別代表 99 至 7385 磅的載重能力。

速限指數

輪胎尺寸序號的最後一組數字是速限指數,以英文字母表示:205/55R16 91V。如同載重指數的數字會對應特定載重能力,您的速限指數字母也會依據標準化實驗室測試對應特定的車速能力。

例如標有速限指數「S」的輪胎可對應達極速 180 公里,標示「R」則對應至 170 公里。請注意這並非建議車速,您仍然必須遵守道路的法定速限。

速限指數越高,所能提供的操控性能就越高。替換的輪胎必須擁有相同或更高的速限指數,以便維持車輛的車速能力。若車輛裝配不同速限指數的輪胎,必須以「最慢」的輪胎速限指數作為車輛安全極速。

  • 10件新手駕駛一定要知道的事

    新手上路總是特別緊張與興奮,台灣普利司通輪胎特別為您整理10件新手駕駛一定要知道的事,讓大家快快樂樂出門,平平安安回家。

    了解更多
  • 認識輪胎速限指數

    許多先進的轎車胎都有輪胎速限指數,一個代表輪胎設計速度能力的代號。換句話說,就是一條輪胎設計範圍內的最高容許車速。

    了解更多
  • 夏季開車注意事項

    在陽光充足的夏天,路面溫度可能會變得極高溫,這表示您在道路上疾馳時,基本上等於是在烤箱上行駛。這對您的愛車來說意味著什麼?

    了解更多