Run Flat Tyres: How They Work

Though they first appeared in the mid-1980s, Run-Flat Technology (RFT) tyres are now more popular than ever. With some auto manufacturers making them standard in new vehicles, more consumers are asking about Run-Flats as well as their advantages and how using them impacts driving.

What Are Run Flat Tyres?

With Run-Flat Technology (RFT) tyres, you can continue driving after a puncture so you make your way to a workshop or find a safe, level area to change your tyre.

You can’t drive on them indefinitely, though. Check the manufacturer’s specifications to find out how fast and how far you can drive on your RFT tyres. Bridgestone’s RFT tyres will allow continued operation even after a loss of some or all inflation pressure for up to 80 km at a maximum speed up to 80 km/h.

How Do Run Flat Tyres Work?

There are two primary types of Run-Flat Technology (RFT) tyre systems: the self-supporting system and the support ring system.

In most self-supporting RFT tyre systems, the tyre features reinforced sidewall construction that will continue supporting the vehicle in the event of air loss. This construction allows continued operation after the loss of air pressure up to the speed and distance specified by the manufacturer.

Self-supporting RFT

Support ring Run-Flat Technology (RFT) tyre systems, on the other hand, employ a ring of hard rubber or another structure that can support the vehicle’s weight in an air loss condition.

RFT Support ring system

Since they continue performing even though they’re “flat,” all run flat tires, regardless of the specific system type, may only be used on a vehicle equipped with a Tire Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS). The TPMS alerts you as soon as one of your tires loses pressure. Without it, you might not know you were driving on an underinflated tire.

Benefits of Run Flat Tyres

You don’t have to change your tyre in dangerous or uncomfortable conditions. This is perhaps the biggest benefit of run flat tyres and is the one of the reasons why they were designed. With conventional tyres, you have to replace a flat on the spot or have your car towed.

In a puncture situation, run flats are more stable than conventional tyres. Since they’re made to support your vehicle even when they contain no air, run flat tyres will help you maintain better control in a complete air loss situation than conventional tyres.

As consumers continue to prioritise safety on the list of features they look for in a vehicle, the popularity of RFT tyres is expected to grow. Since RFT tyres work reliably with interconnected technologies like Tyre Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS), it may only be a matter of time before they become the norm rather than the exception in new vehicles.

  • How to Buy Tyres

    Knowing the ins and outs of buying tyres can be overwhelming, so we've put together a practical tyre buying guide to give you the information you need to make an educated and confident decision.

    Click to Learn More
  • Fuel Efficient Tyres

    See how Bridgestone fuel efficient tyres can help save you money at the petrol station, give you more mileage per litre and offer a comfortable ride while reducing carbon emissions.

    Click to Learn More
  • Tyre Safety for All Drivers

    As with just about everything on your car, paying attention and being proactive to your tyres are the keys to a successful trip. Here are a few tips for avoiding trouble on the road ahead.

    Click to Learn More

什麼是失壓續跑胎?

自 1980 年代中期首度問世以來,目前失壓續跑胎 (RFT) 比起以往更受歡迎。隨著部分汽車製造商將其列為新車標準配胎,有越來越多消費者開始詢問失壓續跑胎。

什麼是失壓續跑胎?

失壓續跑胎是一種在刺穿時還能讓您繼續行駛的輪胎,以便讓您從容前往修車廠或者尋找一個能自行換輪胎的安全平坦區域。
不過沒辦法讓您持續一直開下去。請確認製造商規格,並瞭解您的失壓續跑胎可以在多少車速以內持續行駛多遠距離。普利司通 DriveGuard 失壓續跑胎在喪失部分或全部胎壓後仍可用 80 公里以內的時速持續行駛最遠達 80 公里。

 

失壓續跑胎如何運作?

失壓續跑胎系統有兩種主要類型:自我支撐系統和支撐環系統。
在大部分自我支撐型失壓續跑胎系統中,輪胎具備強化胎邊結構,在胎壓喪失後仍能持續支撐車輛。此結構在胎壓喪失後仍可在製造商規範的車速和續航距離內正常運作。

Self-supporting RFT

至於支撐環型失壓續跑胎系統,則是採用硬橡膠環或其他能在胎壓喪時情況下支撐車重的結構。

RFT Support ring system

由於這種輪胎在「爆胎」後仍能持續運作,因此無論何種類型系統,所有失壓續跑胎都只能用在配備胎壓監控系統 (TPMS) 的車輛上。TPMS 能在輪胎喪失胎壓時立即發出警告。若無此系統,您有可能會不知道您正在胎壓不足的情況下行駛。

失壓續跑胎的優點

1. 您不需要在危險或不舒適的條件下更換輪胎。這大概是失壓續跑胎最大的優點,同時也是其設計初衷之一。使用傳統輪胎時您必須現場更換爆胎,否則就必須請求拖吊。

2. 遭遇刺穿情況,失壓續跑胎比起傳統輪胎更穩定。因為這種輪胎的設計在完全沒氣時依然能支撐您的愛車,失壓續跑胎在胎壓完全喪失的情況下,比起傳統輪胎更能讓您維持車輛控制。

由於消費者在選購汽車時越來越重視安全性配備,失壓續跑胎受歡迎的程度預料也將持續看漲。由於失壓續跑胎在與 TPMS 互聯技術搭配下的運作相當可靠,因此遲早會從新車的選購配備成為必要配備。

 

  • 胎紋磨損

    輪胎經過使用,胎紋會逐漸變淺,且整體輪胎效能也會改變。另外也有許多原因會導致胎紋不規則磨損,使您不得已必須提早換胎。定期檢查每一條輪胎的胎紋深度和磨損情形不僅能讓您知道何時需要換胎,也能幫助您判斷其他必要的保養,以便讓您的愛車和輪胎發揮最大價值。

    了解更多
  • 輪胎安全

    如同汽車的所有相關環節,保持注意力和主動積極都是旅途愉快的關鍵。首先,我們建議您仔細檢查一下輪胎。

    了解更多
  • 認識節能胎

    如果您在尋找能為您省油、每加侖行駛更多里程並且能提供舒適乘坐感的輪胎,普利司通節能胎是您的不二之選。普利司通 Ecopia 輪胎係針對重視經濟效益與成本考量的駕駛人所設計,能提供低滾動阻力 ─ 也就是說,此輪胎能將能源浪費減至最低,降低油耗與碳排放量。

    了解更多